top of page

☾ How’s your Root Chakra?

Hi again! Today I thought I would write up a little about The Root Chakra, I will be covering all chakras but there is so much information I thought it would be better in smaller chunks, keep an eye out though for the rest that will posted soon!

Even though I will be going more in depth about The Root Chakra, I just wanted to write a little about all the seven chakras, to help you understand why it is so important to keep them balanced and aligned.

So, in these beginner’s guides, I’ll touch on the defining characteristics of these chakras and explain how to tell when any of them are blocked and how to unblock them by using yoga poses, mantras and more…

So, what is a Chakra? Chakra (cakra in Sanskrit) means “wheel” and refers to energy points in your body. The major chakras are energy centres located along the spine. Seven chakras run from the base of the spine to the top of your head. These energy centres are responsible for the balance in our emotional and physical self. The energies of the chakras also affect how events happen in our reality.

Sometimes, when one of the chakras is not in balance, it may contract in size and the other chakras will expand more than they need to, to make up for the shortfall of energies. This misalignment of the chakra energy centres can create mayhem in the flow of energies and can manifest with a multitude of spiritual and physical problems. So, it’s so important to keep all the chakras cleansed, balanced and free of any persisting negative influences.

By unlocking the power of the chakras, we can improve our life a great deal. I just want to say that there are more chakras than these seven I will be posting about in the next coming days, some even say there are 114 different chakras! But today we will be talking about the root chakra. So, let’s start!

The Root Chakra

The Root chakra is the foundation of Spiritual development.

It controls our sense of safety, security, survival and keeps us grounded, the root chakra can also create your connection with the Earth. The root chakra is the base of all grounding necessary to keep you emotionally balanced.

The colour of the root chakra is ruby red, or some like to refer to it as a glowing red sphere of energy, some also like to think of it as a beaming ruby red four-petalled lotus. I think both work and are acceptable.

The Sanskrit for the Root Chakra is “Muladhara” (pronounced mu·lad·hara).

When this chakra is imbalanced, you can experience fear, anxiety, weight issues, lack of self-esteem and constipation.

When the root chakra is working at its best, you will have a strong sense of safety and security. It will be easier to hit weight goals and you just have a lot of positive and uplifting energy flowing through you.

So, how do you awaken the root chakra?


Meditation is great for helping to awaken your root chakra, you can imagine it increasing in its radiance by bringing to your mind a swirling ball of ruby red energy. Another way to awaken your root chakra is by using the mantra ‘Lam’.


Yoga is another great way to bring balance to your root chakra – the poses to help balance your root chakra are:

  1. Child pose

  2. Cobra pose

  3. Plank pose

  4. warriors pose


Affirmations are also great in helping you balance a chakra; I’ve gathered 10 affirmations that you can repeat and practice for your root chakra.

  1. I am safe

  2. I am present and aware

  3. I feel grounded

  4. I feel connected to Mother Earth

  5. My roots are deep and strong

  6. I believe in myself

  7. I am brave

  8. I am strong

  9. I am financially free

  10. I love my body and trust its wisdom


In order to enjoy the crystals for the root chakra and get the benefits, I would advise using them when connecting with nature. Maybe carrying them when you’re walking in a forest, or anything similar. You can also place them directly onto your lower back to activate the chakra.

The Crystals great for the root chakra are.

  1. Red Garnet

  2. Red Jasper

  3. Onyx

  4. Fire Agate

  5. Black tourmaline

  6. Hematite

  7. Tigers Eye

  8. Smoky Quartz

  9. Ruby

Food for The Root Chakra

Since the root chakra is all about grounding and connecting to the Earth, root vegetables are great for balancing the root chakra. Root vegetables obviously grow from the ground and are great for absorbing a high amount of nutrients and vitamins.

Also think red – red apples, beetroot, tomatoes, pomegranates, strawberries, raspberries.

I really hope you picked up some useful information, don’t forget to let us know if there is anything you would like us to write about.

The next Chakra I will be writing about will be The Sacral Chakra! See you then!

Love and Light

☾ The Spiritual Mamas x

#chakra #therootchakra

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page